A trusted, independent resource for voters and elected officials since its founding in 1991, the Georgia Public Policy Foundation provides actionable solutions to real-life problems by bringing people together: Civil Discourse, Criminal Justice, Economy, Education, Environment, Free Speech, Government Accountability, Healthcare, Legal System, Poverty, Regulation Reform, Taxes and Spending, and Transportation.

Parents, the Pandemic and School Choice

It’s frustrating how little “public” is in Georgia public schools these days. Transparency is lacking, accountability is fading and students are struggling, academically, socially and emotionally.

Foundation Signs National Letter on Healthcare Reforms

The following is an open letter published September 23, 2020, to the American people from 68 leaders participating in the Health Policy Consensus Group. The full list of signatories, who include Kyle Wingfield and Chris Denson, follows the letter. What’s Needed for Health Care Reform: Personalized Care That Puts You and Your Doctor in Charge The nation faces a clear choice between two paths for America’s health care future: One path is largely controlled by the government, where you get few choices and no options to escape. The other is controlled by you … Continue Reading →


Friday Facts: September 25, 2020

It’s Friday! Quotes of Note “Justice is not often easy. It does not fit the mold of public opinion, and it does not conform to shifting standards. It answers only to the facts and to the law.” – Daniel Cameron, Attorney General of Kentucky “Reacting in anger or annoyance will not advance one’s ability to persuade.” – Ruth Bader Ginsburg, U.S. Supreme Court Justice, who died September 18, 2020 “Children should be educated and instructed in the principles of freedom.” – John Adams (1787) Transportation Hazards of autonomy: A major … Continue Reading →

Foundation Names Communications Director

NEWS RELEASE For Immediate Release September 16, 2020 Contact: Benita Dodd Benita@georgiapolicy.org 404-256-4050 Foundation Names Keara Vickers Communications Director Atlanta – Digital marketing professional Keara Vickers joined the staff of the Georgia Public Policy Foundation on September 14, 2020, as Communications Director. Vickers comes to the Foundation from Carnegie Mellon University, where she was Associate Director for Advancement Communications, responsible for strategy and implementation of social media outreach across a variety of platforms. Before that, she managed social media for Reason Magazine and managed social media, email marketing and website … Continue Reading →

Recent Foundation Publications

The Georgia Public Policy Foundation’s 2020 publications are listed below by date of publication. Click on a link to read. Sign up here to be added to the Foundation’s media mailing list and receive news releases, commentaries and event updates and invitations. September 11: Tests Are Crucial to Measure Students’ Learning, by Kyle Wingfield. How do we know there’s an achievement gap? Because all kids, across a given state, have to take the same tests. September 4: This Labor Day, A Tribute to Work, by Benita M. Dodd The problem of … Continue Reading →